Bruce Graves on talkingturks

My name is Bruce Graves. Before I met my future wife in London, I’d no idea that I would fall in love with Turkey and make it my home.

My first challenge was to learn a new language – from scratch.  Soon I discovered that Turkish and English have very little in common. Often I couldn’t understand a word that was being said! Just going to class wasn’t enough, I needed to practice and have real conversations.

So, I do empathise with my Turkish friends who ask “what can I do to keep my English?”

Luckily, my wife is Turkish and an English teacher, so I can chat to her in either language. While nothing beats regular conversation, I thought it would be cool to get my friends doing something in English – everyday. Let’s see if it works for you…

talkingturks in a nutshell

talkingturks gets you into the habit of watching, listening, reading and commenting on stuff in English. It’s free, anyone is welcome.

talkingturks posts on popular topics:  people, planet, travel & adventure, food & drink, arts & crafts, improve your English. Every post has a 1 minute challenge which you won’t be able to resist.  Oh look! Here’s one now…

1 minute challenge:

Before I met my future wife in London, I’d no idea that I would fall in love with Turkey and make it my home.

1. What is I’d short for? I did / I would / I had

2. Can we also use I’d instead of I would in the sentence above? Yes / No

Luckilymy wife is Turkish and an English teacher, so I can chat to her in either language.

3. Without changing the meaning of the sentence above, which of these words can we use instead of luckily?joyfully . happily . fortunately . wonderfully . especially . ideally . fortuitously . actually

Now, click the vimeo button for my video of this post and the answers.

Vimeo <— watch the video of this post

One response to “Bruce Graves on talkingturks

Comments are closed.